Brooklyn private independent school

Lower School Admissions

brooklyn private preschools

The application for the 2020-2021 school year closed on December 2, 2019. Please contact admissions to inquire about a late application.

Conveniently located in the heart of Brooklyn, Berkeley Carroll Lower School welcomes inquiries from all families who are interested in learning more about admittance to the school, from Preschool through Grade 4. At the core of our school are students who have a passion for learning and are creatively and intellectually curious. Admission is based on parent conversations, children’s visits, and a child’s academic and social potential.

The admissions process for the 2020-21 school year begins on Tuesday, September 3, 2019. Our online admissions forms and events module are hosted by a company named Ravenna. You can register for an Open House and apply to Berkeley Carroll by clicking the Apply Now button, creating an account, adding your child’s information, and choosing Berkeley Carroll as a school you’re exploring for the upcoming year. If you already have a Ravenna account, you may use the same login and password. Please note that as part of our process, at least one parent or guardian of Lower School applicants is required to attend an Open House. If you toured last year, you won’t be required to attend this year, though of course you’re always welcome to visit us again.

As you scroll to the bottom, please click on the grade level your child will be applying for to get specific information on application procedures for the 2020-21 school year. If you have any questions, do not hesitate to contact us in the Admissions Office.

We are excited to meet you!

Beverly Reese
Director of Admissions, Lower School
breese@berkeleycarroll.org

Lai Jin Wong
Admissions Associate, Lower School
ljwong@berkeleycarroll.org
718-534-6608

As an inclusive community, Berkeley Carroll honors the dignity of all people. In our culture and our program, we embrace and respect differences. These include age, ethnicity, family structure, gender, learning style, physical ability, race, religion, sexual orientation, and socioeconomic class.

We believe in teaching and learning about these issues, even when the conversations are difficult. Our commitment to diversity is one expression of the mission of our school. We want to help students understand the complexity of a constantly changing world. The confidence and ability to engage respectfully with others is a signature of a Berkeley Carroll education.

Steps For Applying to Lower School

Fall 2019
Open House Dates

Starting Tuesday, September 3 at 9:00am families will be able to reserve two (2) adults spaces on a Fall Open House through their Ravenna account. If you do not have an account click the Apply Now button to create one.

PS - PK
Open Houses

Tues., Oct. 22
Wed., Oct. 23
Thurs., Oct. 24
Tues., Oct. 29
Wed., Oct 30
Tues., Nov. 12
Thurs., Nov 14

Kindergarten
Open Houses

Tues., Sept. 24
Thurs., Sept. 26
Tues., Oct. 1
Wed., Oct. 2
Tues., Oct. 8
Thurs., Oct. 10
Tues., Nov. 5

1st - 4th Grade
Open Houses

Tues., Oct. 15
Wed., Nov. 20
Thurs. Nov. 21

Open Houses take place from 8:45am - 10:15am
and begin at
712 Carroll Street.

See the full Open House Calendar here.